Search Menu
Language Menu
Mobile Menu

Steering Committee on Enriched IT Programme in Secondary Schools (SCITP)


The Government Chief Information Officer, with the support of the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development and the Secretary for Education, proposes to implement, on a pilot basis, a two-pronged Enriched IT Programme in secondary schools to be launched in the 2015/16 school year for eight years until 2022/23. The Enriched IT Programme comprises two elements —

(a) Enriched IT Class Programme - enriched IT classes to be run by up to eight selected secondary schools to provide intensive IT training to students who are interested and talented in IT; and

(b) Enriched IT Activities Programme - enriched IT activities to be organised by secondary schools to foster a pro-IT atmosphere and stimulate interest in IT in the school community.

Terms of Reference

The Terms of Reference of the Steering Committee are —

(a) To provide steer, oversee, coordinate and monitor the implementation of Enriched IT Programme;

(b) To consider and formulate curriculum enrichment and project-based learning activities for Enriched IT Class Programme;

(c) To evaluate, select and monitor Enriched IT Activities Programme;

(d) To consider and resolve concerns encountered during programme implementation;

(e) To review the Enriched IT Programme; and

(f) To advise on any matter related to the Enriched IT Programme.


Members of the Steering Committee on Enriched IT Programme in Secondary Schools (From 1 August 2014 to 31 July 2016)


     Government Chief Information Officer (GCIO)

Non-official Members (Ad Personam)


  • Professor CAO Jian-nong
    Chair Professor and Head
    Department of Computing, Faculty of Engineering,
    The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
  • Professor Roland CHIN
    President and Vice-Chancellor
    Hong Kong Baptist University
  • Professor Sam KWONG Tak-wu
    Head and Professor
    Department of Computer Science, College of Science and Engineering,
    City University of Hong Kong
  • Professor LEUNG Ho-fung
    Department of Computer Science and Engineering, Faculty of Engineering,
    Chinese University of Hong Kong
  • Dr ONG Lay-lian
    Academic Director (Information Technology)
    Vocational Training Council (VTC)


  • Mr Dominic ALLON*
    Managing Director
    Google Hong Kong
  • Mr Horace CHOW
    General Manager
    Hong Kong and Macau
    Microsoft Hong Kong Limited
  • Mr Robin LO
    Managing Director
    Entreprise Business Group (Hong Kong)
    Huawei Tech. Investment Co. Ltd.
  • Mr Tony TAI
    General Manager
    IBM China/Hong Kong Limited

     Other organisations

  • Mr MA Hoi-hung
    Hong Kong Association for Computer Education (HKACE)
  • Professor NG Tai-kai
    Executive Director
    Hong Kong Academy for Gifted Education (HKAGE)
  • Professor TAM Kar-yan
    Council Member
    Curriculum Development Council (CDC)
  • Mr Albert WONG
    Association of I.T. Leaders in Education (AiTLE)

Co-opted Members (Appointed by the Government Chief Information Officer)

     Partner schools

  • Principal, Cheung Sha Wan Catholic Secondary School
  • Principal, Christian Alliance SW Chan Memorial College
  • Principal, Pak Kau College
  • Principal, Pui Ching Middle School
  • Principal, Shun Tak Fraternal Association Yung Yau College
  • Principal, St. Paul's Convent School
  • Principal, The Y.W.C.A. Hioe Tjo Yoeng College
  • Principal, Tin Ka Ping Secondary School

Ex-officio Members

  • Deputy Government Chief Information Officer (Policy and Industry Development),
    Office of the Government Chief Information Officer
  • Principal Assistant Secretary (Curriculum Development)
    Education Bureau


  • Chief Systems Manager (Industry Development)
    Office of the Government Chief Information Officer

* Mr Dominic ALLON resigned on 12 July 2016.