SearchLanguageMobile menu

OGCIO

Reference Glyphs for Chinese Computer Systems in Hong Kong

Chinese characters have a long history of development and are widely used around the world today. One of the characteristics of this diverse set of sophisticated writing symbols is that a character may have multiple glyphs and can be very different in form or shape even when written in the same style. Computer software developers may choose different glyphs when developing their own Chinese font products.

In the 1990s, Chinese computer systems began to grow in popularity. As Hong Kong and Taiwan used similar Chinese writing systems, the Chinese computer platforms of Taiwan and the Big-5 coding standard developed by its computer industry were widely adopted in Hong Kong. Font products compliant with the Big-5 also became prevalent in Hong Kong. However, Hong Kong’s writing convention is in some ways different from that of the Big-5.

In 2002, the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR), in collaboration with the Chinese Language Interface Advisory Committee (CLIAC), developed a set of two guidelines, namely the Reference Guide on Kai Style Character Glyphs for Chinese Computer Systems in Hong Kong and the Reference Guide on Song Style (Print Style) Character Glyphs for Chinese Computer Systems in Hong Kong. The two guidelines serve as a source of reference for the industry to promote the development of font products which can reflect the actual shape of glyphs commonly used in Hong Kong.

In 2016, the HKSAR Government again collaborated with CLIAC and developed the Reference Glyphs for Chinese Computer Systems in Hong Kong (the Reference Glyphs). By taking a character-based approach, the Reference Glyphs is designed to provide a complete set of Chinese glyphs which covers all the characters in the Hong Kong Supplementary Character Set–2016 and Big-5 characters, supplementing the above-mentioned component-based guidelines.

Through comparing the differences between the glyphs commonly used in Hong Kong and those specified in the Big-5, the Reference Glyphs gives specific description of the glyphs used in Hong Kong, hence clearly presenting the glyph of each character in the H-column of the ISO/IEC 10646 international coding standard. It provides an easy reference for glyph comparison, facilitating the development and wider adoption of Chinese font products, which will allow the public to employ glyphs commonly used in Hong Kong in handling computer information in Chinese.

Full document here (Chinese Version Only; zip file format, 75MB. Please note that it is not the intention of the document to set standards for characters commonly used in Hong Kong, or to impose any restrictions on the styles adopted by font developers.)

List of Contents of the Reference Glyphs for Chinese Computer Systems in Hong Kong

  1. Theme
  2. General Principles
  3. Scope
  4. References
  5. Terminology
  6. Principles adopted in comparing the glyphs of Hong Kong characters with those of Big-5 and Taiwan Song characters
  7. Minor differences in style (not considered as differences in glyph)
  8. Glyph differences between Hong Kong, Big-5 and Taiwan Song characters
  9. Handling of inconsistencies and mistakes in Big-5 character glyphs

Appendix: Rules for Changing a Right-falling Stroke to a Dot in Glyphs for Chinese Computer Systems

Tables:

Table 1: Code Table of Hong Kong Kai Style Character Glyphs

Table 2: Code Table of Hong Kong Song Style Character Glyphs

Table 3: Differences in Component between Hong Kong Characters and Big-5 Characters

Table 4: Differences in Component between Hong Kong Characters and Taiwan Song Characters

Table 5: Differences in Glyph between Hong Kong Characters and Big-5/Taiwan Song Characters

Table 6: Big-5 Characters with Problematic Glyphs

搜寻语言流动式目录
政府资讯科技总监办公室

香港电脑汉字参考字形

汉字发展历史悠久,应用地域广泛,是一套複杂多元的书写符号。这套书写符号的特色之一,是有些字一字多形,即使用同一字体,一个字也可有不同的写法。电脑软件开发商开发汉字字型产品时,选用的字形也互有区别。

上世纪九十年代,中文电脑开始普及,香港因汉字书写系统与台湾大致相同,普遍采用台湾的中文电脑平台,并沿用台湾电脑业界订立的大五码编码标準。以大五码字形为依据而开发的产品,成为香港的主导字型产品。不过,就书写规律而言,香港惯用的字形与大五码字形不尽相同。

2002年,香港特别行政区(香港特区)政府与中文界面谘询委员会合作,编订一套以部件为基础的《香港电脑汉字楷体字形参考指引》和《香港电脑汉字宋体(印刷体)字形参考指引》,供业界参考,以推动业界开发符合香港惯常书写方式的汉字字型产品。

2016年,香港特区政府与中文界面谘询委员会再度合作,编订《香港电脑汉字参考字形》。《香港电脑汉字参考字形》旨在从字符层面着眼,提供一套完整的电脑汉字参考字形,涵盖《香港增补字符集—2016》和大五码所有汉字,以补充上述两份建基於部件的字形参考指引的不足之处。

《香港电脑汉字参考字形》通过比较香港字形与大五码字形的差异,具体说明适用於香港的字形,务求更清晰显示ISO/IEC 10646国际编码标準中H-列的字形,为香港电脑汉字提供既方便使用又易於对照的字形参考指引,同时利便字型产品的开发和普及,让市民能以惯用的书写字形处理中文资讯。

《香港电脑汉字参考字形》的全部文件(zip格式之文件,75MB。请注意:本文件并非为香港社会的日常用字订立规范, 也不限制字体软件开发商所采用的风格。)

《香港电脑汉字参考字形》的内容概览

  1. 主题内容
  2. 总体原则
  3. 涵盖範围
  4. 参考标準及文献
  5. 术语
  6. 香港字形与大五码字形、台宋字形的对比原则
  7. 细微风格差异(不视作字形区别)
  8. 香港字形与大五码字形、台宋字形的差异
  9. 大五码字形不一致和误字的处理方法

附录:《香港电脑字形原捺笔变形为顿点法则》

附表

附表一:香港楷体字形与字码表

附表二:香港宋体字形与字码表

附表三:有别於大五码字形的香港部件表

附表四:有别於台宋字形的香港部件表

附表五:香港字形与大五码/台宋字形的差异

附表六:大五码问题字符