SearchLanguageMobile menu
OGCIO

Inclusion of New Characters in the HKSCS

The Government recognizes the need for the public and government departments to include new characters into the Hong Kong Supplementary Character Set (HKSCS) from time to time. In collaboration with the Chinese Language Interface Advisory Committee (CLIAC), the Government compiled and published the procedures for inclusion of new characters in the HKSCS and principles for inclusion of new characters in the HKSCS.

The CLIAC will meet regularly to consider applications for inclusion of characters in the HKSCS according to its procedures and principles. Once approved, the new HKSCS characters will be submitted to the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) for inclusion in the future releases of the ISO/IEC 10646 international coding standard.

Procedures for the Inclusion of Characters in the Hong Kong Supplementary Character Set (Revised Version)

  1. Members of the public and government departments may submit their applications for inclusion of characters in the Hong Kong Supplementary Character Set (HKSCS) to the Secretariat of the Chinese Language Interface Advisory Committee (CLIAC). An application should include the glyph, meaning and pronunciation of the character, and preferably with usage explanation, information on origin and sample sentences. If the application includes symbols, the applicant should submit the information of other related symbols.
  2. On receipt of applications submitted by members of the public, the Secretariat of the CLIAC will pass the applications to the Working Group of Chinese Language Interface Advisory Committee (Working Group) for examination. Applications submitted by government departments will initially be considered by an internal special duty group before being forwarded to the Working Group for examination.
  3. The Working Group will examine the applications according to the principles for the inclusion of characters as listed below. Members of the public and government departments should refer to these principles beforehand so as to avoid making unnecessary applications, prevent the waste of resources and help speed up the application process.
  4. Applications having passed the examination of the Working Group will be submitted to the CLIAC for approval. If the applications fulfill the criteria of “Urgently Needed Characters”, source references in the format of HC-0001 to HC-9999 will be assigned by the CLIAC Secretariat for applicants’ reference. The glyphs and related information of the approved characters will be published on the Internet. However, such information is for reference only. The approved characters will officially become part of the HKSCS at a later stage (see Paragraph 6 below).
  5. An unsuccessful application may be reconsidered by the Working Group upon request by the applicant and upon the applicant’s supplying further details of the character in the application. As many of these characters are assigned with ISO/IEC 10646 code points, users can handle these characters on platforms supporting ISO/IEC 10646 or Unicode.

    PDF file format A list of characters not accepted for inclusion in the HKSCS (from 31.3.2008 onwards) is available for your reference or please visit List of Characters not Accepted for Inclusion in the HKSCS.

    The "List of Characters not Accepted for Inclusion in the HKSCS" is a web-based tool to facilitate the public and government departments to check whether the characters to be submitted have been reviewed before, thus saving the applicants' time and efforts in preparing their applications.

    Official Revision of the HKSCS
  6. The development of products by software developers to support new HKSCS characters takes time. Moreover, too frequent an update to the HKSCS will cause inconvenience and even chaos to users. Therefore, the Working Group will consider the practical timing of the official inclusion of the newly approved characters in the HKSCS, and make recommendations to the CLIAC for the official announcement of amendment to the HKSCS. After several amendments are published, the Working Group will consider the actual needs and then recommend the CLIAC to merge these amendments and publish a new version of the HKSCS.
  7. All newly approved HKSCS characters that are not yet included in the ISO/IEC 10646 will be submitted to the Ideographic Research Group (IRG) of the International Organization for Standardization (ISO).

PDF file format Principles for the Inclusion of Characters in the HKSCS

Application for the Inclusion of Characters in the HKSCS

Application Form For Inclusion Of New Characters In The Hong Kong Supplementary Character Set Download application form for the inclusion of characters in the HKSCS
 

Note:

  1. Applicants should make reference to the Procedures and Principles for the Inclusion of Characters in the HKSCS beforehand so as to avoid submitting unnecessary applications.
  2. Completed application forms can be submitted by fax, electronic mail or post to the Secretariat of the CLIAC:
  3. The Secretariat of the CLIAC will confirm with the applicant in respect of the receipt of the application.
  4. Approved characters will be published on the Internet. The applicants concerned will also be notified individually by the Secretariat of the CLIAC.

 

Results of the Inclusion of Characters in the HKSCS 

  1. By referring to the procedures for inclusion of Characters in the HKSCS, members of the public and government departments could submit their applications for inclusion of characters in the HKSCS to the Secretariat of the CLIAC. The assigned internal codes, glyphs and related information of the approved characters will be published on this web page.
  2. Information of the approved characters including their assigned internal codes and glyphs is for reference only. In practical timing, the CLIAC would release the next revision of the HKSCS which includes the approved characters.

Number of characters approved since publication of HKSCS-2016: 1

The CLIAC approved the inclusion of the character "" (HD-5C83) in the HKSCS in its 26th meeting held on 14 January 2019.  For more information on the procedures for inclusion of approved characters in the HKSCS, please refer to paragraph 6 above.

If you have any inquiry, please contact us by e-mail (cliac@ogcio.gov.hk).

搜寻语言流动式目录

政府资讯科技总监办公室

《香港增补字符集》增收新字符的工作

鉴于市民及政府部门不时需要把新字符纳入《香港增补字符集》内,政府在与中文界面谘询委员会 (中谘会) 共同努力下编订和公布了《香港增补字符集》字符增收程序和《香港增补字符集》字符增收原则。

中谘会定期开会,根据该程序和原则审核和处理增收《香港增补字符集》字符的申请。通过审核的新增字符会被提交到国际标准化组织,以纳入在 ISO/IEC 10646 国际编码标准日后的版本内。

《香港增补字符集》字符增收程序(修订本)

1. 市民及政府部门可向中文界面谘询委员会(中谘会)秘书处提交字符增收申请。申请必须连同字符的字形、读音及意义等资料提交,如能提供字符的用途、字源和例句更佳。如增收申请涉及符号,申请人宜把相关符号的资料一并提交。

2. 市民提交的字符,会经中谘会秘书处转交中文界面谘询委员会工作小组审核。政府部门提交的字符,会由政府内部专责小组初步审议,然后再提交中文界面谘询委员会工作小组审核。

3. 工作小组会根据下文的原则审核增收字符的申请。为了避免浪费资源及加快审核字符的过程,市民及政府部门应先参考字符增收原则,以免提交不必要的申请。

4. 通过工作小组审核的申请会提交中谘会确认。如申请符合“迫切需要编码的字符”条件,中谘会秘书处会为字符编配“来源参考”,格式为HC-0001至HC-9999,供申请人参考。字符的字形及相关资料会在互联网上公布,但必须强调,这些資料只供参考,字符尚待纳入《香港增补字符集》(见下文第6段)。

5. 如申请不获接纳,申请人可提供进一步资料,要求工作小组重新考虑。由于这些字符大部分已编配 ISO/IEC 10646 码位,使用者可以在支援 ISO/IEC 10646 或统一码(Unicode)的平台上处理这些字符。

PDF 档案 请参考(由2008年3月31日起)不获接纳成为《香港增补字符集》字符的资料或浏览「不获纳入《香港增补字符集》的字符表」

「不获纳入《香港增补字符集》的字符表」是一个网上检索工具,方便市民及政府部门查核申请的字符先前曾否被审核,藉此减省申请人拟备申请的时间及工作。

《香港增补字符集》的正式修订

6. 由于软件商开发软件支援增收字符需时,加上字符集更新过于频密会对使用者造成不便,甚至引起混乱,工作小组会视乎实际需要,在适当时间向中谘会建议公布《香港增补字符集》补编,把增收字符正式纳入字符集。在若干补编公布后,工作小组会再视乎实际需要,建议中咨会把补编合并,出版《香港增补字符集》新版本。

7. 所有通过审核但尚未纳入 ISO/IEC 10646 的增收字符,均会提交国际标准化组织辖下的表意文字小组。

PDF 档案 《香港增补字符集》字符增收原则 

《香港增补字符集》字符增收申请

《香港增补字符集》字符增收申请表格 《香港增补字符集》字符增收申请表格
 

=== 申请须知:

  1. 申请人在提交申请前,应参考《香港增补字符集》字符增收程序和原则,避免提交不必要的申请。
  2. 已填妥的申请表格可以传真、电子邮件或邮递方式交回中谘会秘书处:
  3. 中谘会秘书处会向申请人确认收妥其字符增收申请。
  4. 获接纳的字符会在互联网上公布;此外,中谘会秘书处亦会个别通知有关的申请人。

《香港增补字符集》字符增收资料

  1. 根据以上《香港增补字符集》的字符增收程序,市民和政府部门均可向中谘会秘书处提交申请,获接纳的字符及其编码资料会载于此网页。
  2. 有关增收字符的内码及字形资料暂时只供参考,中谘会会在适当时间公布《香港增补字符集》修订版本,把增收字符正式纳入字符集。

自公布《香港增补字符集-2016》后增收字符数目: 1

中咨会于2019年1月14日第二十六次会议通过在《香港增补字符集》增收字符“”(HD-5C83)。获准增收的字符会正式纳入《香港增补字符集》,相关程序详见上文第6段。

如有任何垂询,欢迎以电邮与我们(cliac@ogcio.gov.hk) 联络。