SearchLanguageMobile menu
OGCIO

What is the ISO/IEC 10646

To provide a common technical basis for the processing of electronic information in various languages, What is ISO the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) has developed an international coding standard called ISO/IEC 10646. The ISO/IEC 10646 provides a unified standard for the coding of characters in all major languages in the world including traditional and simplified Chinese characters.

Different characters are used in different languages. To allow for the processing of local characters in computers and electronic devices, different character coding standards are used in different parts of the world. For example, the ISO/IEC 10646 and Big-5 coding standard are both used in Hong Kong and the ISO/IEC 10646 is being actively promoted. The GB (Guo Biao) coding standard is used in Mainland China. The CNS Code is Taiwan's coding standard while Big-5 coding is also commonly used. However, different coding standards are not compatible with each other. The same internal code may represent different characters in different coding standards. As a result, electronic information sent from one part of the world may become mis-coded or incorrectly displayed when the electronic information is received by the computer systems in other parts of the world. Extra time and effort is required to perform code conversion between different coding standards. However, code conversion might still not solve the problem completely.

The development of the ISO/IEC 10646 is aimed at solving the above problems. It covers characters in all major languages in the world, including traditional and simplified Chinese characters. The ISO/IEC 10646 provides a unified character coding standard for the communication and exchange of electronic information. By adopting the ISO/IEC 10646, various computer systems in different parts of the world will be able to more accurately store, process, transmit and display electronic information in different languages, thus facilitating the flow of electronic information and the conduct of electronic transactions across geographical areas.

Development of the ISO/IEC 10646

The ISO released the first version of the ISO/IEC 10646 in 1993. It was called ISO/IEC 10646-1:1993. In 2000, the ISO released ISO/IEC 10646-1:2000, which is an updated version of ISO/IEC 10646-1:1993. ISO/IEC 10646-1:2000 contains 27,484 ideographic characters consisting of the 20,902 ideographic characters of ISO/IEC 10646-1:1993 plus 6,582 newly defined ideographic characters in the CJK Unified Ideographs Extension A block. In November 2001, the ISO released ISO/IEC 10646-2:2001 as a supplement to ISO/IEC 10646-1:2000. ISO/IEC 10646-2:2001 contains 42,711 newly defined ideographic characters in the CJK Unified Ideographs Extension B block, bringing the total number of ideographic characters contained in the ISO/IEC 10646 to exceed 70,000. All the characters in the Kangxi Dictionary, Hanyu Dazidian and Hanyu Dacidian are now included in the ISO/IEC 10646. In April 2004, ISO published the ISO/IEC 10646:2003, which is a single publication as the result of the merger of the previous two releases of ISO/IEC 10646: ISO/IEC 10646-1:2000 and its supplement ISO/IEC 10646-2:2001. Therefore, the ideographic characters in the ISO/IEC 10646:2003 are the same as those in ISO/IEC 10646-1:2000 cum ISO/IEC 10646-2:2001. In December 2008, ISO published the CJK Unified Ideographs Extension C block in ISO/IEC 10646:2003/Amd 5. The CJK Unified Ideographs Extension C block contains 4,149 additional ideographic characters. In October 2009, ISO published the ISO/IEC 10646:2003/Amd 6. In March 2011, ISO published the ISO/IEC 10646:2011, which is a single publication as the result of the merger of the previous releases of ISO/IEC 10646:2003 and its Amendments 1 through 7. ISO/IEC 10646:2011 contains 222 ideographic characters in the CJK Unified Ideographs Extension D block, in addition to the CJK Unified Ideographs block, CJK Unified Ideographs Extension A block, CJK Unified Ideographs Extension B block, and CJK Unified Ideographs Extension C block which contain 20,940, 6,582, 42,711, and 4,149 characters respectively. In September 2014, ISO published the ISO/IEC 10646:2014, which includes 5,762 ideographic characters in the CJK Unified Ideographs Extension E block. In December 2017, ISO published the ISO/IEC 10646:2017, which includes 7,473 ideographic characters in the CJK Unified Ideographs Extension F block.

In November 2005, ISO released the ISO/IEC 10646:2003/Amd 1:2005. This release publishes a subset of ideographic characters, named as International Ideographs Core(IICORE).

Ideographic characters refer to those characters with appearance related to the meaning of the characters, such as the Han characters. Inclusion of ideographic characters into the ISO/IEC 10646 is carried out in a few phases: i.e. CJK Unified Ideographs Extension A-F blocks.

For standardisation purposes, some ISO documents (including the ISO/IEC 10646 and its amendments) are made freely http://standards.iso.org/ittf/PubliclyAvailableStandards/.

The development of the ISO/IEC 10646 and the Unicode is kept synchronised by the ISO and the Unicode Consortium. Information on the characters included in the ISO/IEC 10646 / the Unicode is available on the web site of the Unicode Consortium at http://www.unicode.org/

搜寻语言流动式目录

政府资讯科技总监办公室

什么是 ISO/IEC 10646

为提供一个共通的技术基础以处理不同语文的电子资料,国际标准化组织 (ISO) 发展了一套名为 ISO/IEC 10646 的国际编码标准。该标准为世界各种主要语文的字符包括繁体及简体的中文字,编订统一的内码。

什么是 ISO 10646 国际编码标准相片各种语文的字符各有不同。为了在电脑及电子装置内处理各地区本身的字符,世界各地采用了不同的编码标准。例如香港采用 ISO/IEC 10646 及「大五码」,并正积极推广应用 ISO/IEC 10646。内地采用的中文编码标准是「国标码」。台湾的中文编码标准则是「中文标准交换码」,但普遍使用「大五码」。各种不同的编码标准互不兼容,一个编码在不同的编码标准内可能代表不同的字符,导致某一地区发出的电子资讯,在传送到其他地区的电脑系统时,可能会出现乱码或某些字符不能正确地显示等问题。即使可使用转换编码的软件以显示不同编码的资料,但这不单费时失事,更未必能完全解决问题。

制订 ISO/IEC 10646 的目的,便是为了解决上述问题。该编码标准涵盖了各种主要语文的字符,包括繁体及简体的中文字。ISO/IEC 10646 提供了一套统一的字符编码标准,方便各地的电脑用户进行电子通讯及资料交换。采用该标准后,世界各地不同的电脑系统之间便能更准确地储存、处理、传递及显示各种语文的电子资讯,从而加强各地间电子资讯的流通及推动电子交易的进行。

ISO/IEC 10646 的发展情况

国际标准化组织于一九九三年发表 ISO/IEC 10646 的首个版本,全名是「ISO/IEC 10646-1:1993」,并在二零零零年发表了「ISO/IEC 10646-1:2000」。「ISO/IEC 10646-1:2000」是「ISO/IEC 10646-1:1993」的更新版本,它包括了「ISO/IEC 10646-1:1993」内的 20,902 个表意文字及新增收于中日韩表意文字区扩展区 A 的 6,582 个表意文字,即共 27,484 个表意文字。国际标准化组织在二零零一年十一月发表了「ISO/IEC 10646-2:2001」,作为对「ISO/IEC 10646-1:2000」的补充。「ISO/IEC 10646-2:2001」于中日韩表意文字区扩展区 B 新增了 42,711 个表意文字,使 ISO/IEC 10646 所包括的表意文字总数超逾 70,000 个,其中包括所有收录在《康熙字典》、《汉语大字典》和《汉语大词典》内的汉字。国际标准化组织于二零零四年四月发表了「ISO/IEC 10646:2003」。「ISO/IEC 10646:2003」合并了「ISO/IEC 10646-1:2000」和它的补充版本「ISO/IEC 10646-2:2001」而成为一个单一发行本。因此,「ISO/IEC 10646:2003」内的表意文字与「ISO/IEC 10646-1:2000」附带「ISO/IEC 10646-2:2001」内的表意文字是相同的。国际标准化组织在二零零八年十二月发表了「ISO/IEC 10646:2003」的第五修订版,于中日韩表意文字区扩展区 C 增加了 4,149 个表意文字。国际标准化组织在二零零九年十月发表了「ISO/IEC 10646:2003」的第六修订版。国际标准化组织于二零一一年三月发表了「ISO/IEC 10646:2011」。「ISO/IEC 10646:2011」是合并了「ISO/IEC 10646:2003」和它的第一至七修订版的单一版本。「ISO/IEC 10646:2011」包含早前已公布的中日韩表意文字区的 20,940 个表意文字,中日韩表意文字区扩展区 A 的 6,582 个表意文字,中日韩表意文字区扩展区 B 的 42,711 个表意文字,中日韩表意文字区扩展区 C 的 4,149 个表意文字和中日韩表意文字区扩展区 D 的 222 个表意文字。国际标准化组织在二零一四年九月发表了「ISO/IEC 10646:2014」,当中包括中日韩表意文字区扩展区 E 的 5,762 个表意文字。国际标准化组织于二零一七年十二月发表了 ISO/IEC 10646:2017,当中包括中日韩表意文字区扩展区 F 的 7,473 个表意文字。

二零零五年十一月国际标准化组织公布的「ISO/IEC 10646:2003 第一修订版」,发表一个名为 International Ideographs Core(IICORE) 的表意文字子集。

表意文字是指一些字形与字义具有关系的文字,例如汉字。把表意文字收纳在 ISO/IEC 10646 的工作是分期进行的,即中日韩表意文字区扩展区 A-F。

为达到标准化的目的,国际标准化组织在以下网页免费提供一些刊载 ISO 标准的文件(包括 ISO/IEC 10646 及其修订版): http://standards.iso.org/ittf/PubliclyAvailableStandards/

国际标准化组织及 Unicode Consortium 维持 ISO/IEC 10646 及统一码的同步发展。有关 ISO/IEC 10646 / 统一码的收字资料,请参阅 Unicode Consortium 的网页 http://www.unicode.org/