SearchLanguageMobile menu
OGCIO

IPv6

An Internet Protocol address (IP address) is a unique identifier assigned to devices for communication over a network. In the Internet, every computer or computing device is assigned an IP address in order to interact with others. Currently, Internet Protocol version 4 (IPv4) is mainly used for the assignment of the IP addresses in the Internet. However, IPv4 provides a limited number of Internet addresses. With the rapid growth of Internet usage, the address space of IPv4 will become exhausted.

Internet Protocol version 6 (IPv6) has an immense address space and is commonly seen as the solution to the IPv4 address exhaustion issue. IPv6 was formalized in 1998. In the last decade, the IT industry and the academic has put a lot of effort in the development of IPv6.

Transition to IPv6 will involve changes to the supporting systems and infrastructure on a global scale. It is expected that IPv4 will not be replaced instantaneously, but IPv4 and IPv6 are going to co-exist on the Internet for some time.

The following sections provide basic understanding of the IPv4 exhaustion issue, highlights of the IPv6 activities in Hong Kong and reference to some IPv6 information portals.

搜寻语言流动式目录

政府资讯科技总监办公室

互联网规约地址 (IP Address) ;为网络通讯之主机提供了一个独一无二的识别。所有连接到互联网的电脑或装置必须获分配一个互联网规约地址。现行互联网主要所使用的规约版本4(IPv4)只拥有有限的地址空间。随着互联网的快速增长,IPv4的地址空间终会耗尽。

拥有庞大地址空间的下一代互联网规约版本6(IPv6)被广泛认定为将会在IPv4地址空间耗尽后维持互联网的持续发展。IPv6于1998年订定,在过去的十年,业界和学界投入大量资 源推动IPv6的发展。

互联网规约版本的更替更涉及全球性的支援系统和基建的改动。可以预见,IPv4不会即时被取代,而两个规约版本将会在互联网上并存一段时间。

以下部分提供有关IPv4地址空间耗尽的基本理解和香港IPv6的重点活动并搜罗了一些提供IPv6资讯的网站。

影片

政府资讯科技总监赖锡璋先生, BBS, JP, 于「World IPv6 Launch x IPv6 in Action x IPv6World:Asia Seminar」之开幕致辞

政府资讯科技总监赖锡璋先生, BBS, JP, 于「World IPv6 Launch x IPv6 in Action x IPv6World:Asia Seminar」之开幕致辞

政府资讯科技总监赖锡璋先生, BBS, JP, 于「IPv6 In Action Consumer Guide 」传媒发布会

政府资讯科技总监赖锡璋先生, BBS, JP, 于「IPv6 In Action Consumer Guide 」传媒发布会

IPv6广播剧,第一集 - 茶餐厅篇

IPv6广播剧,第一集 - 茶餐厅篇

IPv6广播剧,第二集 - 电脑商场篇

IPv6广播剧,第二集 - 电脑商场篇

IPv6广播剧,第三集 - 学校篇

IPv6广播剧,第三集 - 学校篇