SearchLanguageMobile menu

OGCIO

Data Centre Facilitation

Data centres are an essential infrastructure to support pillar sectors like financial services, trading and logistics as well as other economic sectors. Data centres also provide the catalyst for the development of new content and applications, as well as cloud computing services. There is potential for strong growth in the demand for data centres in Hong Kong.

Hong Kong is an excellent location for data centres. Hong Kong benefits from its proximity to the Mainland, a conducive business environment, a stable government, a transparent and independent legal system, free flow of information, reliable power supply, sound telecommunications infrastructure and low risk of natural disasters. To sustain and enhance Hong Kong’s competitiveness in the region, the Government fully supports the development of data centres in Hong Kong as the backbone to our economic growth.

To meet the projected growth in demand for data centres, we are implementing the following measures to facilitate data centre development in Hong Kong:

  1. Set up a Data Centre Facilitation Unit and a thematic information portal to provide coordinated services to interested developers and investors on matters related to setting up of data centres in Hong Kong;
  2. Stepping up promotion to position Hong Kong as a prime location for data centres in the Asia Pacific region;
  3. Promoting the incentive measures that optimise the use of industrial buildings for the benefit of developing data centres; and 
  4. Identifying sites for development of high-tier data centres and appropriate land disposal arrangements.

The information portal disseminates useful information to facilitate development of data centres in Hong Kong, including Hong Kong's institutional and geographical advantages, statutory requirements on land use, and supporting facilities such as power supply. Check out for more details at this website http://www.datacentre.gov.hk, or call the Data Centre Facilitation Unit at (852)2961 8030.

搜尋語言流動式目錄

政府資訊科技總監辦公室

促進數據中心的發展

數據中心是促進金融服務及物流等支柱產業和其他經濟行業發展的重要基礎建設。數據中心亦為開發數碼內容、應用程式和雲端運算服務提供催化作用。數據中心在香港的需求有著大幅增長的潛力。

香港是設立數據中心的上佳地點。香港毗連中國內地,具備有利營商的環境、穩定的政府管治、高透明度並獨立的司法系統、資訊自由流通、及可靠的電力供應,並具備世界第一流的資訊及電訊科技基礎設施,出現天災的風險亦甚低。為保持及提升本港在區內的競爭力,政府全力支持在香港發展數據中心作為本地經濟發展的骨幹。

為配合數據中心需求的預期增長,我們制訂了下列措施以促進數據中心在本港發展。

  1. 在政府資訊科技總監辦公室設立了數據中心促進組和專題資訊網站,向有意在香港發展數據中心的企業和投資者提供資訊和協調。
  2. 加強推廣香港為亞太區內設立數據中心的首選地方。
  3. 推廣鼓勵善用工業大廈的優惠措施,以促進數據中心的發展。
  4. 物色用地發展高端數據中心,並研究適當的批地安排。

數據中心資訊網站提供促進數據中心在港發展的有用資訊,包括香港在制度及地理上的優勢、法定的土地使用規定、及電力供應等輔助設設施。詳情請瀏覽http://www.datacentre.gov.hk或致電(852)2961 8030聯絡數據中心促進組。