SearchLanguageMobile menu

OGCIO

Development of Assistive Technologies for Persons with Disabilities

Hong Kong is a well-developed and mature digital economy. Use of the Internet for accessing information and online services has become a part of many people's daily lives. People who are out of touch with the digital world will find it difficult to integrate into the mainstream community. Advancement in information and communications technology (ICT) has improved the quality of life of the underprivileged groups.

Owing to physical limitations, persons with disabilities (PWD) often encounter many obstacles in using ICT. As such, they need a variety of assistive tools in order to operate and use computer smoothly. However, some of these assistive tools are so expensive that some of the PWD can hardly afford. In addition, as the type and severity of disabilities vary among PWD, different PWD need different assistive tools. Some of them may not be able to find a suitable tool in the market and therefore need a tailor-made one which greatly increases the cost and time required.

In view of the above, the Office of the Government Chief Information Officer allocated a one-off funding of HK$3.6 million in 2010-11 to support the development of ICT-based assistive tools and applications for persons with disabilities. The nine selected projects, ranging from software development, input and control auxiliary device, online services and rehabilitation tools, etc, cater for persons with different types of disabilities such as the physically disabled and visually impaired persons.

The funded projects commenced development works in April 2011. All of them were completed in April 2012.

For enquiries, please contact Digital Inclusion Team at 2582 6045 or email to digitalinclusion@ogcio.gov.hk. Detailed information of the nine funded projects is given below:

搜尋語言流動式目錄

政府資訊科技總監辦公室

無障礙輔助科技研發

香港是發展成熟的數碼經濟體系,上網瀏覽資訊和使用網上服務已成為許多市民日常生活的一部分。與數碼世界脫節的社羣將難以融入主流社會。資訊及通訊科技進步已大大改善弱勢社羣的生活質素。

基於身體上的限制,殘疾人士使用資訊及通訊科技時往往遇到很多障礙,故需要多種不同的輔助工具,才能順利地操作及使用電腦。可是,部分輔助工具所費不菲,令一些殘疾人士難以負擔。此外,由於他們所罹患的殘疾類別及嚴重程度有別,故不同殘疾人士所需要的輔助工具不盡相同。部分殘疾人士或未能在市場上找到合適的輔助工具,因而需要度身訂造,大大增加所需費用及時間。

有見及此,政府資訊科技總監辦公室在2010-11年度提供一筆為數360萬港元的一次過撥款,資助開發以資訊及通訊科技為基礎的輔助工具及應用系統,供殘疾人士使用。九個獲資助的項目皆切合不同殘疾類別人士(例如肢體傷殘及視障人士)的需要,所研發的產品包括電腦軟件、輸入及控制輔助設備、網上服務及康復工具等。

獲資助的項目在2011年4月開展研發工作,全部已在2012年4月完成。所開發的產品可供巿民參考和免費下載,或作為進一步開發的基礎。

如有查詢,請致電2582 6045與數碼共融小組聯絡,或電郵至digitalinclusion@ogcio.gov.hk。九個獲資助項目的詳細資料如下:

 

有關各資助項目的詳情,請參閱 PDF file format「無障礙輔助科技研發基金」小冊子