SearchLanguageMobile menu

OGCIO

Information and Cyber Security Within the Government

Information security is about the protection of information regardless of whether it is in digital form, being stored on computers, or in transit over a network. With the rapid advancement of information and communications technologies (ICT), Hong Kong is increasingly reliant on the Internet, telecommunications infrastructure, and smart devices for economic development, entrepreneurship, business operations and daily life. Information security issues and the risks in the cyber environment could have various impacts on businesses and individuals.

The OGCIO attaches great importance to improving information and cyber security in the Government as well as to promoting awareness and preparedness in the wider community.

Information Security Management Framework

The Government places great emphasis on information security and the protection of its information and computer assets. Information systems and communication networks have become essential, if not critical, components in the course of electronic service delivery. The security of these components has profound impact on their reliability, availability and serviceability. Since year 2000, a central organisation, the Information Security Management Committee and IT Security Working Group were established to oversee information security within the whole government.

At the departmental level, a senior officer would be appointed to be the Departmental IT Security Officer who would lead the overall information security management of that department. The Information Security Incident Response Teams (ISIRTs) comprising management and technical staff would be established to deal with all matters on a day-to-day basis to prepare for, detect and respond to information security events and incidents.

Government IT Security Policy and Guidelines

The OGCIO has developed and maintained a comprehensive set of information technology (IT) security policies, standards, guidelines, procedures and relevant practice guides for use by government bureaux, departments, and agencies (B/Ds). These include a Baseline IT Security Policy, IT Security Guidelines, Practice Guide for Security Risk Assessment & Audit, and Practice Guide for Information Security Incident Handling. These procedures and guidelines were developed with reference to international standards, industry best practices, and professional resources. They would be reviewed from time to time to meet the challenges of evolving security threats posed by emerging technologies. These documents cover in considerable details the organisational, management, technical and procedural aspects to enable B/Ds to build up their information security framework and practice. Through various training and promotion activities and via different channels, B/Ds are furnished with best practices and information about changes in information security.

Incident Management

We adopt the principle of “prevent, detect, respond and recover” and implement appropriate security controls and measures in ensuring the integrity of business transactions and information by guarding against various types of cyber attacks such as computer worms and viruses, malware, spamming, phishing, distributed denial-of-service (DDoS), hacking and computer crimes. We conduct regular security risk assessment and audit of the technical and procedural controls to ensure that such preventive measures can keep up with technology advancements and industry best practices, and changes in the system, network, or organisational environment.

The OGCIO has taken proactive steps in combating threats related to IT security and cyber attacks by continuously monitoring IT security related vulnerabilities and threats, providing alerts and technical assistance to B/Ds in handling information security events and incidents. With the advent of the Internet and increasing trend of cyber attacks, closer collaboration locally with relevant stakeholders and globally with computer emergency response teams (CERTs) and international information security organisations become necessary and frequent.

In 2015, we established the Government Computer Emergency Response Team Hong Kong (GovCERT.HK, www.govcert.gov.hk) to centrally coordinate information and cyber security incidents as well as to collaborate with other CERT organisations. The GovCERT.HK is the coordination centre for government IT administrators and users on computer emergency response and incident handling. Locally, it would work closely with the Hong Kong Computer Emergency Response Team Coordination Centre (HKCERT, www.hkcert.org) on threats and incidents that would affect the private sectors and the community. Globally, GovCERT.HK would collaborate with other governmental and regional CERTs and international organisations with a view to facilitating exchange of information and knowledge needed to reduce vulnerabilities, mitigate risks, and react upon threats and attacks.

GovCERT.HK Annual Report:
www.govcert.gov.hk/en/annualreport.html

搜尋語言流動式目錄

政府資訊科技總監辦公室

政府層面的資訊及網絡安全

資訊保安是關於資訊的保護,不論是數碼形式、儲存在電腦內,還是通過網絡傳輸的資訊。隨着資訊及通訊科技的迅速發展,香港在經濟發展、創業、商業運作和日常生活上日益依賴互聯網、電訊基礎設施及智能裝置。資訊保安問題和網絡環境的風險對企業和個人會構成各種影響。

政府資訊科技總監辦公室十分重視加強政府的資訊及網絡安全,並廣泛地加深社會對資訊及網絡安全的認知和準備。

資訊保安管理架構

政府非常重視資訊保安和保護政府的資訊及電腦資產。在提供電子服務的過程中,資訊系統及通訊網絡即使不是不可或缺,也已成為至關重要的一環。這些設備的保安大大影響其可靠性、可用性和提供服務的能力。自2000年起,政府內部成立了資訊保安管理委員會及資訊科技保安工作小組,以監督整個政府內部的資訊科技保安工作。

在部門層面,各部門會委任一位高級人員,作為部門資訊科技保安主任,領導該部門的整體資訊保安管理。各部門亦會設立包括管理和技術人員在內的資訊保安事故應變小組處理日常所有事項,以準備、偵測和應對所有資訊保安事件及事故。

政府資訊科技保安政策及指引

政府資訊科技總監辦公室已制定和維持一套全面的資訊科技保安政策、標準、指引、程序及相關實務指引,以供政府各政策局、部門及有關機構(下稱「局/部門」)使用。這些文件包括《基準資訊科技保安政策》、《資訊科技保安指引》、《保安風險評估及審計實務指引》和《資訊保安事故處理實務指引》。這些程序和指引是參考國際標準、業界良好作業模式和專業資源而制定,而且不時檢討,以應對新興技術帶來的安全威脅演變的挑戰。這些文件在組織、管理、技術及程序各方面提供相當詳盡的資料,讓各局及部門可按之自行建立資訊保安架構和作業模式。此外,政府資訊科技總監辦公室亦舉辦各種培訓課程和推廣活動,以及通過不同途徑,為各局及部門提供良好作業模式及有關資訊保安的最新資訊。

保安事故管理

我們採用「預防、偵測、應變和復原」的原則, 並推行適當的保安控制和措施,以確保業務交易和資訊的完整性,防範各種網絡攻擊,例如電腦蠕蟲和病毒、惡意軟件、濫發電子郵件、仿冒詐騙、分散式阻斷服務攻擊、黑客及電腦罪案。我們對技術性和程序上的控制措施定期進行保安風險評估和審計,以確保這些預防措施能夠配合科技的發展、業界的良好作業模式,以及系統、網絡或組織環境的改變。

政府資訊科技總監辦公室積極採取措施,應對各種與資訊科技保安及網絡攻擊有關的威脅,包括持續監察與資訊科技相關的保安漏洞及威脅,向各局及部門發出保安警報和提供技術支援,以處理資訊保安事件及事故。隨着互聯網出現和網絡攻擊不斷增加的趨勢,我們與本地相關持份者、全球的電腦緊急事故應變小組及國際資訊保安組織的更緊密合作,變得更為必要及頻繁。

在2015年,我們成立政府電腦保安事故協調中心(GovCERT.HK, www.govcert.gov.hk),集中處理協調資訊及網絡安全事故的工作,並負責與其他電腦緊急事故應變小組合作。GovCERT.HK是為政府資訊科技管理人員及用戶而設的協調中心,負責有關電腦緊急應變和事故處理的工作。在本地方面,GovCERT.HK會與香港電腦保安事故協調中心(HKCERT, www.hkcert.org)緊密合作,處理影響私營機構及市民的資訊保安威脅及事故。在國際方面,GovCERT.HK會與其他政府和地區的電腦緊急事故應變小組及國際組織合作,促進資訊及知識交流,以減少保安漏洞,減低風險,並處理威脅及攻擊。

政府電腦保安事故協調中心年報:
www.govcert.gov.hk/tc/reports.html#annual-reports