SearchLanguageMobile menu

OGCIO

Types of Digital Certificates

There are various types of digital certificates in use in Hong Kong. According to the Electronic Transactions Ordinance (Cap. 553) (ETO), recognized digital certificates can only be issued by recognized certification authorities (CAs) following the requirements as stipulated in its Certification Practice Statement which should be prepared in accordance with the requirements specified in the Code of Practice for Recognized Certification Authorities (Code of Practice).

Recognized digital certificates issued in Hong Kong are mainly classified into the following types presently. From time to time, recognized CAs may apply to Government Chief Information Officer for recognition of new type of digital certificates. Once recognized, they can be used to generate digital signatures that can fulfill the signature requirements under the law when transacting with Government.

Types of Recognized Digital Certificates Types of Users Main Purposes of Use
Personal Individuals For individuals to conduct secure message transmissions as well as electronic transactions by means of encryption/decryption and digital signing to prove their identity to third parties
Organisational Staff of Organisations (Note 1) For staff of organisations to conduct secure message transmissions as well as electronic transactions by means of encryption/decryption and digital signing for and on behalf of their organisations
Encipherment Individuals or Staff of Organisations (Note 1) For individuals or staff of organisations to conduct secure message transmissions by means of encryption/decryption
Server Single or Multiple Servers / Web sites of Organisations (Note 1) For single or multiple server(s) authentication, by using one Server certificate, to verify the identity of web site(s) to the client browser and communicate in Secure Socket Layer (SSL) messages
Governmental Staff of Government bureaux/departments (Note 2) For staff of Government bureaux/departments to conduct secure message transmissions as well as electronic transactions by means of encryption/decryption and digital signing for and on behalf of their bureaux/departments used for the purposes as designated by their bureaux/departments
Organisational Role Staff of Organisations (Note 1 and 2) For staff of organisations to conduct secure message transmissions as well as electronic transactions by means of encryption/decryption and digital signing for and on behalf of their role in the organisations used for the applications as designated by their organisations

Currently, Hongkong Post Certification Authority issues recognized digital certificates under the brand name of "e-Cert", whereas the Digi-Sign Certification Services Limited issues digital certificates with the brand name of "ID-Cert".

More information on the "e-Cert" and "ID-Cert" issued by the two recognized CAs is as follows:

Note 1: Organisations include Government bureaux/departments, non-Government organisations, universities/schools, private companies, etc.

Note 2: Offer of this type of recognized digital certificates requires prior arrangement between the recognized CA and the subscriber organisation.

Issuance of 2048-bit Digital Certificate

The industry has been enhancing IT products and services for supporting the use of 2048-bit cryptographic key length for asymmetric encryption by end 2013. Electronic services currently adopting 1024-bit key should be enhanced to support 2048-bit key so as to provide adequate security strength for encryption and digital signing. Both recognized certification authorities have promulgated their plans on the issuance of 2048-bit recognized digital certificates. The beneficial use of 2048-bit digital certificates will further strengthen security level to ensure the robustness of secure information exchange and electronic transactions. More information on their plans is as follows:

Issuance of Digital Certificate using SHA-256 Cryptographic Hash Algorithm

To follow the industry trend of adopting SHA-256 cryptographic hash algorithm in SSL certificates for higher level of security for electronic transactions, Hongkong Post Certification Authority (HKPCA) will issue e-Cert (Server) using SHA-256 cryptographic hash algorithm in phases. More information of its plan is as follows:

Issuance of Server Digital Certificate Supporting Online Certificate Status Protocol

The industry has already started to issue server digital certificates supporting Online Certificate Status Protocol (OCSP) in recent years.  OCSP is an alternative to Certificate Revocation List (CRL) for obtaining the revocation status of digital certificates.  To be in line with industry practice, Hongkong Post Certification Authority will issue e-Cert (Server) supporting OCSP in phases. More information of its plan is as follows:

搜尋語言流動式目錄
政府資訊科技總監辦公室

數碼證書的類別

香港所使用的數碼證書有多種類別。根據《電子交易條例》(第553章)認可數碼證書只能由認可核證機關按其《核證作業準則》的規定發出。有關的《核證作業準則》應按《認可核證機關業務守則》(下稱“業務守則”)所載的規定而制訂。

目前,香港所發出的認可數碼證書主要分為以下類別。認可核證機關可不時向政府資訊科技總監申請認可屬新類別的數碼證書。數碼證書一經認可,便可用以產生數碼簽署,以便在與政府進行交易時,符合法律上的簽署規定。

認可數碼證書的類型 用戶的類型 主要用途
個人 個別人士 個人以加密/解密和數碼簽署的方式進行安全的信息傳送及電子交易時,向第三方證明自己的身分
機構 機構(註釋1)員工 員工為所屬機構或代表所屬機構以加密/解密和數碼簽署的方式進行安全的信息傳送及電子交易
保密 個別人士或機構(註釋1)員工 個人或機構員工以加密/解密的方式進行安全的信息傳送
伺服器 機構(註釋1)的單一或多個伺服器/網站 運用一張伺服器證書向單一或多個伺服器提供認證及向客戶瀏覽器核實網站的身分,並利用保密插口層信息通訊
政府 政府各局/部門員工(註釋2) 員工為所屬政府各局/部門或代表所屬政府各局/部門,用於所屬政府各局/部門的指定用途,以加密/解密和數碼簽署的方式進行安全的信息傳送及電子交易
機構職務 機構(註釋1及2)員工 員工為所屬機構的職務或代表所屬機構的職務,用於所屬機構的指定應用,以加密/解密和數碼簽署方式進行安全的信息傳送及電子交易

現時香港郵政核證機關發出的數碼證書名為“電子證書”,而電子核證服務有限公司發出的數碼證書名為“ID-Cert”。

兩間認可核證機關分別發出的“電子證書”和“ID-Cert”的詳情如下:

註釋1:機構包括政府各局/部門、非政府機構、大學/學校、私人企業等。

註釋2:登記人機構必須先與認可核證機關作出安排,認可核證機關才可以為登記人機構發出此類別認可數碼證書。

簽發2048位元數碼證書

業界現正致力提升其資訊科技產品和服務,使該等產品和服務在2013年年底前能支援使用2048位元密碼匙長度作非對稱加密。目前使用1024位元密碼匙的電子服務應提升至可支援使用2048位元密碼匙,以增強加密技術和數碼簽署的保安。兩間認可核證機關已公布其簽發2048位元認可數碼證書的計劃。善用2048位元數碼證書,可進一步加強保安,確保資訊交流及電子交易可安全穩妥地進行。兩間認可核證機關的計劃詳情如下:

簽發SHA-256加密雜湊算法的數碼證書

為了提高電子交易的安全性,香港郵政核證機關將會跟隨業界的發展趨勢,採用SHA-256加密雜湊算法的SSL證書。香港郵政核證機關將會分階段落實簽發SHA-256的電子證書(伺服器),其計劃詳情如下:

簽發支援線上證書狀態通訊規約的伺服器數碼證書

近年業界已開始簽發支援線上證書狀態通訊規約的伺服器數碼證書。線上證書狀態通訊規約用於獲取數碼證書的撤銷狀態,是證書撤銷清單以外的另一選擇。為了與業界的做法一致,香港郵政核證機關將分階段落實簽發支援線上證書狀態通訊規約的電子證書(伺服器),其計劃詳情如下: