SearchLanguageMobile menu

OGCIO

Introduction

The Government is committed to providing the infrastructure to facilitate a digital economy. One of such infrastructures is the legal framework to support secure electronic transactions. The Electronic Transactions Ordinance (Cap. 553) ("ETO"), which was enacted in January 2000 and updated in June 2004, provides the legal framework for the recognition of electronic records and signatures, giving them the same legal status as their paper counterparts. It has also established a Voluntary Certification Authority Recognition Scheme for certification authorities to enhance public confidence in electronic transactions.

(Note: For transactions not involving Government entities, a signature requirement under the law can be met by any form of electronic signature so long as it is reliable, appropriate and agreed by the recipient of the signature. For transactions involving Government entities, a signature requirement under the law can be satisfied by digital signature.)

The key provisions of the ETO are as follows:

  1. Section 5 of the ETO provides that if a rule of law requires or permits information to be or given in writing, the use of electronic records satisfies the rule of law;
  2. Section 5A of the ETO provides that if a rule of law under a statutory provision specified in Schedule 3 to the ETO requires or permits a document to be served on a person by personal service or by post, the service of the document in the form of an electronic record satisfies the rule of law;
  3. Section 6(1) of the ETO provides that if a rule of law requires a signature of a person on a document and neither the person whose signature is required nor the person to whom the signature is to be given is or is acting on behalf of a government entity, an electronic signature satisfies the requirement;
  4. Section 6(1A) of the ETO provides that if a rule of law requires a signature of a person on a document and the person whose signature is required and/or the person to whom the signature is to be given is/are acting on behalf of a government entity/entities, a digital signature satisfies the requirement;
  5. Section 7 of the ETO provides that if a rule of law requires certain information to be presented or retained in its original form, that requirement is satisfied by presenting or retaining the information in the form of electronic records; and
  6. Section 8 of the ETO provides that if a rule of law requires certain information to be retained, that requirement is satisfied by retaining electronic records.

搜尋語言流動式目錄

政府資訊科技總監辦公室

引言

政府致力提供所需基建以推動數碼經濟,其中一項基建為支援安全電子交易的法律架構。於2000年1月制定及於2004年6月修訂的《電子交易條例》(第553章)(下稱「條例」)為電子紀錄及電子簽署的認可提供法律架構,並賦予電子紀錄及電子簽署跟紙張文件上的紀錄和簽署同等的法律地位。政府亦根據條例設立了核證機關自願認可計劃,以加強公眾對電子交易的信心。

(註:就不涉及政府單位的電子交易而言,任何形式的電子簽署,只要可靠恰當並獲簽署的接受人認同,便符合法律上的簽署規定。就涉及政府單位的電子交易而言,數碼簽署符合法律上的簽署規定。)

以下是條例的主要條文:

  1. 第5條規定,凡任何法律規則規定資訊須是書面形式或以書面形式提供,或准許資訊可以是書面形式或以書面形式提供,則使用電子紀錄即屬符合該規則;
  2. 第5A條規定,凡附表3所列的任何法定條文下的法律規則規定或准許以面交送達或郵遞的方式將某文件送達某人,則以電子紀錄形式將文件送達該人,即屬符合該規則;
  3. 第6(1)條規定,凡任何法律規則規定須由任何人在某文件簽署,而該人及將會獲提供該簽署的人均非政府單位或代表任何政府單位行事,則該人的電子簽署即屬符合該規定;
  4. 第6(1A)條規定,凡任何法律規則規定須由任何人在某文件簽署,而該人及將會獲提供該簽署的人(或其中一人)是政府單位或代表某政府單位行事,則該人的數碼簽署即屬符合該規定;
  5. 第7條規定,凡任何法律規則規定某些資訊須以其原狀出示或保留,則以電子紀錄形式出示或保留該等資訊即屬符合該規定;以及
  6. 第8條規定,凡任何法律規則規定某些資訊須予保留,則保留該電子紀錄即屬符合該規定。