SearchLanguageMobile menu

OGCIO

1. Introduction

A proposed Next Generation Government Cloud (GovCloud) will be implemented and launched by 2020. Apart from implementing a reliable “private clouds” services, it will also make use of those “public clouds” services which are more flexible, more elastic, and in compliance with government security requirements. The new platform will provide the following central services with economies of scale:

Central Service Details
(a) Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS): Servers, storage, network resources, cloud management platform and related services for operation, maintenance and support
(b) Platform as a Service (PaaS): On top of IaaS, providing system software, application servers, database management system software and related services for operation, maintenance and support
(c) Services and Tools for Supporting Agile Development, Cloud Native Application Architecture: Agile development technologies, including central application programming interface management, containerisation, continuous integration and continuous delivery technologies, etc.

2. System Architecture of Next Generation GovCloud

An eight-layer system architecture is proposed for developing the next generation GovCloud services:

  • An eight-layer system architecture

  • Layer 1: Data centre resources
    The data centre resources to be adopted include the data centre facilities, the human resources and the processes of operating the data centres. The next generation GovCloud infrastructures may be hosted either in government or commercial data centres, or both. These data centres should also have sufficient availability, information security setup, measures and management, in meeting the requirements of HKSAR Government.

  • Layer 2: Network fabric
    Network fabric across data centre networks will be built to support multitenant network segments across data centre networks. The network fabric layer will apply network virtualisation and software-defined networking technologies to enable virtual networks spanning across different data centres with logical network configurations independent of physical locations. To achieve that, the network fabric layer will deploy according to virtual network technology standards.

  • Layer 3: Cloud infrastructures
    The cloud infrastructures of government cloud will virtualise physical IT resources such as CPU, storage, and network to support resources sharing and optimisation of IT resources utilisation among different systems and applications of the government. The cloud infrastructure layer to be built will comprise of one or more virtualised infrastructures integrated in the cloud environment for enabling cloud services at the upper layers. With the network fabric, the next generation GovCloud will be able to extend to cover different cloud infrastructures independent of physical locations to improve the overall service agility and reliability.

  • Layer 4: Cloud management platform (CMP)
    The CMP layer to be built will provide a unified platform with single sign-on access for users and administrators to access, manage, and monitor cloud resources in different cloud infrastructures. It will orchestrate and automate resource allocations and deallocations according to actual needs of future digital government services and respective IT systems. It will also manage both private and public cloud infrastructures for secure provisioning of both private and public cloud resources and services to application systems.

  • Layer 5: Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS)
    The IaaS layer will provide virtualised IT infrastructure resources as virtual machines for installation of the software stack of the government application systems. It will provide a self-service portal for government users to access the infrastructure resources (e.g. compute, storage, and network resources), and a standardised API interface for applications to automate resource allocation and configuration (through Infrastructure as Code). IaaS may be provisioned in different resource pools, each with different service levels in terms of reliability, agility, and security. In addition, a data analytics resource pool will also be added to support data-centric requirements, such as big data analysis and artificial intelligence. This data analytics resource pool will also provide GPU compute capability and high storage capacity across private and public clouds.

  • Layer 6: API management and gateway
    The next generation GovCloud will implement a central Application Programming Interface (API) gateway for B/D applications to consume shared services / APIs so as to ease application development and operation. The API management and gateway layer publishes, versions, manages, and secures PaaS APIs to facilitate sharing and reuse of common services.

  • Layer 7: Platform as a Service (PaaS)
    The PaaS layer will provide platform services on top of IaaS for application systems of bureaux / departments (B/Ds) to make use of the platform services without implementing, maintaining, or directly administering infrastructure resources by their own. Traditional PaaS, such as Database as a Service, application servers, and etc. (classified as Mode 1) will improve the ease of development, the reliability and the operational efficiency of government applications. Other PaaS (classified as Mode 2) such as Container as a Service, DevOps tools, and etc. will provide new application capabilities, such as auto-scaling, and to significantly reduce the time-to-launch through agile application development. In addition, a data analytics PaaS will be built to support the development and operation of data-centric applications such as big data analytics.

  • Layer 8: Software as a Service (SaaS)
    The SaaS layer will allow B/Ds to share their application systems for use by other B/Ds to save the effort and time to implement and maintain the same by different government B/Ds. The SaaS layer will deliver government applications as cloud services, using the underlying IaaS and PaaS. In the short term, B/Ds may lift-and-shift traditional applications from non-cloud environments to next generation GovCloud. In the long term, to fully leverage the cloud advantages, B/Ds should develop cloud-native applications as SaaS running on next generation GovCloud such that the benefits of cloud (e.g. agility, reliability, etc.) can be fully enjoyed. Individual SaaS of the public cloud services may also be adopted if security requirements of the government are complied with.

搜尋語言流動式目錄

政府資訊科技總監辦公室

1. 引言

擬議的新一代政府雲將於2020年實施並推出。除構建安全穩妥的「私有雲」外,我們同時會結合使用具高靈活性、高彈性和設有符合保安要求的「公共雲」,以提供以下具規模經濟效益的中央服務:

中央服務 詳情
基礎設施即服務(Infrastructure as a Service, IaaS): 伺服器、儲存器、網絡資源、雲端管理平台及相關的操作、維護和支援服務
平台即服務(Platform as a Service, PaaS) : 在基礎設施即服務之上,再提供系統軟件、應用程式伺服器、資料庫管理系統等軟件及相關的操作、維護和支援服務
用於支持敏捷開發工具和雲端原生應用系統架構服務: 引入敏捷開發技術,包括中央應用程式介面管理、容器化技術、持續整合和持續交付技術等.

2. 新一代政府雲端服務的系統架構

新一代政府雲端服務將會建議採用以下八層的系統架構:

  • 新一代政府雲端服務八層的系統架構

  • 第一層: 數據中心資源
    數據中心資源包括數據中心設施,人力資源和數據中心的營運。新一代政府雲端基礎設施可以於政府數據中心、商業數據中心或兩者上運行。而這些數據中心需具備充足的可用性,資訊保安設置、措施和管理,以符合政府的要求。

  • 第二層: 網絡架構
    擬構建的跨數據中心網絡架構,將支援多用戶的網絡段。網絡架構層將會採用網絡虛擬化和軟件定義網絡技術,根據虛擬網絡技術標準進行配置,使虛擬網絡能跨越不同數據中心的實際位置。

  • 第三層: 雲端基礎設施
    政府雲端基礎設施將會把實體硬件資源(例如中央處理器,儲存和網絡)虛擬化,透過資源共享和優化,支援政府不同系統和應用程式。擬構建的雲基礎架構層將採用一個或多個虛擬化系統,以實現上層的服務。在網絡架構上,新一代政府雲將能夠擴展到覆蓋不同實體位置的雲端基礎設施,從而提高整體服務的靈活性和可靠性。

  • 第四層:雲端管理平台
    擬構建的雲端管理平台將為用戶和管理員提供一個單一登入的統一平台,用作管理和監控不同雲基礎設施中的雲資源。雲端管理平台會根據未來數碼政府服務和相關資訊科技系統的實際需求,自動編配和調整系統資源。此外,雲端管理平台還會同時管理「私有雲」和「公共雲」,以便將「私有雲」和「公共雲」的資源和服務安全地提供給應用系統。

  • 第五層:基礎設施即服務
    基礎設施即服務層將會提供虛擬虛擬機器,用以安裝政府應用系統的軟件疊層。它將為政府用戶提供一個自助服務平台,以取用基礎設施資源(例如運算,存儲和網絡資源),及一個標準應用程式界面來把資源分配和配置自動化。基礎設施即服務可以配置在不同的資源池,而每個資源池在可靠性、敏捷性和安全性方面都有不同的服務級別。此外,為支援以數據為本如大數據分析、人工智能的需求,基礎設施即服務將會提供數據分析資源池。而該數據分析資源池能夠提供跨越私有雲和公共雲的圖形處理器運算能力和高存儲容量。

  • 第六層:應用程式界面管理和閘口
    新一代政府雲將會為各局/部門應用程式構建一個中央應用程式界面(API)閘口。透過共享服務或應用程式界面簡化應用程式開發和操作。應用程式界面管理和閘口層將會為平台即服務提供發佈、版本控制、管理的應用程式界面,以促進資源共享和重用。

  • 第七層: 平台即服務
    平台即服務層將會建基於基礎設施即服務之上,為政策局/部門提供一個無需自行開發,維護或直接管理基礎設施資源的平台服務。 傳統的平台即服務,如數據庫即服務,應用程式伺服器等(分類為模式1),將改善應用程式開發的簡便性,可靠性和營運效率。 其他平台即服務,如容器即服務,開發與維運工具等(分類為模式2),將提供新的應用程式功能(例如自動調整容量)及透過敏捷應用程式開發,大大縮短了發佈時間。此外,我們還會構建數據分析平台即服務,從而支援以數據為本的應用程式(如大數據分析)的開發和操作。

  • 第八層: 軟件即服務
    軟件即服務層將允許各決策局/部門分享他們的應用系統供其他決策局/部門使用,以節省不同政府決策局/部門實施和維護的工作量和時間。軟件即服務層建基於基礎設施即服務和平台即服務之上, 將提供政府應用程式作為雲端服務。 從短期來說,各決策局/部門可將傳統應用程式從非雲端環境提移到新一代政府雲。長遠而言,為了充分利用雲端技術優勢(例如敏捷性,可靠性等),各決策局/部門應開發雲端原生應用程式,作為在新一代政府雲上運作的軟件即服務。如果能符合政府的保安要求,個別公共雲的軟件即服務也可採用。