SearchLanguageMobile menu
OGCIO

Smart ID Card Applications

The following applications are provided on the smart ID card :

  • Immigration applications
  • Non-immigration applications
    - e-Cert note 1
    - Card Face Data (CFD) and its relying government applications

Image of Immigration ApplicationsImmigration Applications
The smart ID card provides proof of identity in a more secure form. With the basic personal data stored in the chip, Hong Kong residents can use their own smart ID card for automated immigration clearance through e-Channel. For details, please click here.

Image of e-Cert Applicatione-Cert Application note 1
Cardholders can also store in their smart ID card a personal e-Cert issued by Hongkong Post Certification Authority. The e-Cert enables cardholders to perform electronic transactions securely over the Internet. For details, please click here.

Public Facilities for Using the e-Cert on Smart ID Card

To promote the public use of information technology and electronic services, a large number of computer terminals with Internet access have been installed in public libraries. To facilitate citizens to use the e-Cert on their smart ID card, about 200 terminals are now equipped with smart card readers for their convenience in using the e-government services and other e-business applications. After conducting transactions at public computer facilities, please remember to collect your smart ID card from the card reader.

Note 1: Hongkong Post Certification Authority has ceased the provision of embedding e-Cert (Personal) onto Smart ID Card and related services starting from 30 July 2018.  Existing users can continue to use the e-Cert (Personal) on their Smart ID Cards until its current subscription expires or when the Smart ID Card is replaced. 

Card Face Data Relying Applications

Image of Library Card ApplicationLibrary Card Application
Cardholders can choose to use their smart ID card as a library card. To enable the library card function on the smart ID card, cardholders have to perform a simple registration process at one of the public libraries. With the library card function enabled, cardholders can enjoy the various services provided at public libraries using their smart ID card. For details, please click here.

eHealth System (Subsidies)
eHealth System (Subsidies) makes subsidy claims more simple and convenient. The System provides you a choice to use Smart Identity Card Reader for reading the required personal data from the Smart Hong Kong Identity Card with the cardholders’ consent for making subsidy claims. For details, please click here.

Electronic Health Record Sharing System
An eHR Sharing System provides an information infrastructure for healthcare providers in both the public and private healthcare sectors, with informed and express consent of the patient and proper authorisation for access to the System, to share the eHR they keep on the patient with other healthcare providers and to retrieve the eHR of the patient shared by other healthcare providers. For details, please click here.

The Clinical Information Management System (CIMS) (For Government Dental Clinics and Elderly Health Centres of Department of Health)
The CIMS assists DH's clinics to manage client registration, appointment and medical records. With the enhanced CIMS function to read the personal particulars directly from smart identity cards, the registration process and clinic operation has been made much smoother. This function not only reduces the time required for registration or appointment management but also enhances accuracy by eliminating human errors during data entry of the related information.

Benefits of Smart ID Card
To the cardholders, the smart ID card will give them the convenience of automated immigration clearance on their arrival and departure, secure electronic transactions over the Internet, instant access to public library facilities, secure and accurate patient enrolment as well as other high quality government services planned for the future.

To the community, the e-Cert application on smart ID card will encourage the development of more online applications and thus foster e-commerce in Hong Kong.

搜尋語言流動式目錄

政府資訊科技總監辦公室

智能身份證的用途

智能身份證可支援:

  • 入境事務用途
  • 非入境事務用途:
    - 電子證書 註釋1
    - 卡面資料及使用卡面資料的政府應用系統

入境事務用途的圖片入境事務用途
智能身份證是更高度防偽的身份證明文件,證內的晶片儲存了印於證面的基本個人資料。香港居民可使用智能身份證在e-道辦理自助過關手續。詳情請按此處

 

電子證書用途的圖片電子證書用途 註釋1
持證人亦可在智能身份證加入由香港郵政核證機關所發出的個人電子證書。持證人可使用儲存於智能身份證內的電子證書,在互聯網上穩妥安全地進行電子交易。詳情,請按此處

使用智能身份證所載電子證書的公共設施

各區公共圖書館已設置多台已接駁互聯網的電腦終端機,鼓勵市民使用資訊科技和電子服務。為配合市民使用智能身份證內的電子證書,約200部終端機已設置智能卡閱讀器,以方便市民使用電子政府服務和進行各種電子商貿交易。市民使用公共電腦設施完成交易後,須緊記從智能卡閱讀器取回智能身份證。

註釋1: 由2018年7月30日起,香港郵政核證機關已停止提供載入電子證書(個人)於智能身份證內及其相關服務。現有用戶仍然可以繼續使用其智能身份證內的電子證書(個人)至電子證書登記使用期屆滿或該身份證被替換為止。

使用卡面資料的應用系統

圖書證用途的圖片圖書證用途
持證人可選擇把智能身份證當作圖書證使用。要在智能身份證加入圖書證功能,持證人須先行在任何一所公共圖書館辦理簡單的登記手續。圖書證功能經啓動後,持證人便可以使用智能身份證享用公共圖書館提供的各項服務。詳情,請按此處

「醫健通」系統
「醫健通」系統的功能使資助的申報更為簡便。系統給予你多一個選擇,藉著智能身份證閱讀器,在持證人同意下從他們的香港智能身份證中讀取申報資助所需的個人資料。詳情請按此處

公私營醫療合作-醫療病歷互聯試驗計劃(病歷互聯計劃)
為進一步簡化病人登記程序並提高計劃之安全性及準確性,病歷互聯計劃現接受病人以智能身份證登記。詳情請按此處

電子健康紀錄互通系統
電子健康紀錄互通系統為公私營醫護提供者提供資訊基建平台,讓他們在取得病人明示和知情的同意及獲得進入該系統的適當授權後,與其他醫護提供者互通為病人儲存的電子健康紀錄,並取閱其他醫護提供者為病人儲存以供互通的電子健康紀錄。詳情請按此處

智能身份證的好處
對持證人而言,智能身份證除可為他們帶來自助出入境過關的方便外,還可讓他們在互聯網上進行穩妥安全的電子交易,並方便他們享用公共圖書館設施,以及妥為提供準確病人資料作登記用途。持證人更可享用日後推出的其他優質政府服務。

對香港社會而言,智能身份證電子證書的應用可促進開發更多網上應用系統,從而推動香港電子商貿的發展。