Search Menu
Language Menu
Mobile Menu

Digital Accessibility Recognition Scheme

Nowadays, the Internet permeates every aspect of our daily life, allowing people to access information and services online, and interact with each other anytime anywhere. Making websites and mobile applications accessible not only facilitates everyone including disability groups, but also helps facilitating business development and building an inclusive society.

Since 2013, the Office of the Government Chief Information Officer (OGCIO) and the Equal Opportunities Commission (EOC) have joined hands to organise four rounds of Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme (Scheme) to encourage local enterprises and organisations to adopt accessibility design in their websites and mobile applications.

Starting from 2018, the Hong Kong Internet Registration Corporation Limited (HKIRC) has taken up to organise the Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme while OGCIO serves as the co-organiser and EOC as the independent advisor. It is expected that HKIRC can leverage on its extensive customer network to more effectively promote the adoption of accessibility design in websites and mobile applications by enterprises and organisations. The scheme has been renamed from the "Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme" to the "Digital Accessibility Recognition Scheme." from 2024. Please visit for details.

By incorporating web accessibility design, organisations would:

  • Comply with the legal requirement on protection against disability discrimination
  • Fulfill social responsibility and project positive corporate image
  • Reach more customers by making online services easy-to-use and easy-to-search by everyone
  • Make online services easier-to-maintain by adopting the good coding practices of web accessibility design
  • Contribute to building a caring and inclusive society

Past Scheme Content

Previous Term of the Advisory Committee