SearchLanguageMobile menu

OGCIO

Recognition of Certification Authorities and Certificates

Under the Electronic Transactions Ordinance ("ETO"), the Government Chief Information Officer ("GCIO") is the authority for granting recognition to certification authorities ("CAs") and to the certificates that recognized CAs issue. Recognition will only be granted to those CAs and digital certificates that meet the trustworthiness standard and other requirements of the Government. Recognition of CAs and certificates is governed under relevant provisions of the ETO.

Recognition as a Recognized CA

  1. Section 21(4) of the ETO states that in determining whether the applicant is suitable for recognition, the GCIO shall, in addition to any other matter the GCIO considers relevant, take into account the following -

    • whether the applicant has the appropriate financial status for operating as a recognized CA in accordance with the ETO and the Code of Practice for Recognized Certification Authorities ("Code of Practice");
    • the arrangements put in place or proposed to be put in place by the applicant to cover any liability that may arise from its activities relevant for the purposes of the ETO;
    • the system, procedure, security arrangements and standards used or proposed to be used by the applicant to issue certificates to subscribers;
    • the report, referred to in section 20(3)(b) of the ETO, which contains an assessment as to whether the applicant is capable of complying with the provisions of the ETO and of the Code of Practice as are specified in the Code of Practice (such provisions are specified under paragraph 1 of Appendix 2 of the Code of Practice); or
      the statutory declaration, referred to in section 20(3)(c) of the ETO, which states whether the applicant is capable of complying with the provisions of the ETO and of the Code of Practice as are specified in the Code of Practice (such provisions are specified under paragraph 2 of Appendix 2 of the Code of Practice);
    • whether the applicant and its responsible officers are fit and proper persons; and
    • the reliance limits set or proposed to be set by the applicant for its certificates.
  2. Regarding the report as referred in section 20(3)(b) of the ETO, a CA applying for recognition must furnish to the GCIO a report containing an assessment as to whether the CA is capable of complying with the provisions of the ETO and of the Code of Practice as are specified in the Code of Practice (such provisions are specified under paragraph 1 of Appendix 2 of the Code of Practice). The report shall be prepared by a person approved by the GCIO as being qualified to make such a report. Qualifications of the person are set out in section 12 of the Code of Practice. A CA shall apply to the GCIO for approval that the person whom the CA intends to engage for the preparation of an assessment report is a qualified person under the ETO, and furnish the GCIO with the PDF file format required documents and information in respect of the application.
  3. The validity period for recognition of a CA will normally be three years. The recognized CA may apply to the GCIO for renewal of the recognition.

Recognition of Certificate

  1. A recognized CA may apply to the GCIO for recognition of some or all of its certificates. If the CA is not yet a recognized CA, the CA shall submit an application for recognition for itself as well as for its certificates. The recognition of the certificates will only be considered after the GCIO has granted recognition to the CA concerned.
  2. In general, as long as a recognized CA maintains its recognition status, the recognition status of a recognized certificate issued by the recognized CA will not change provided that the relevant certification practice statement ("CPS"), including the relevant certificate policy that governs the recognized certificate, has not materially changed.
  3. Section 22(5) of the ETO states that for the recognition of a particular certificate or a type, class or description of certificates, the GCIO shall, in addition to any other matter the GCIO considers relevant, take into account the following -

    • whether the certificate(s) are issued in accordance with the recognized CA's CPS;
    • whether the certificate(s) are issued in accordance with the Code of Practice;
    • the reliance limit set or proposed to be set for that particular certificate, or that type, class or description of certificates, as the case may require; and
    • the arrangements put in place or proposed to be put in place by the recognized CA to cover any liability that may arise from the issue of that particular certificate, or that type, class or description of certificates, as the case may be.

Application for Recognition

Regarding application for recognition/renewal of recognition as a recognized CA and/or recognition of certificates, please refer to Application for Recognition.

Note:
The information in this web page is not intended to affect your rights and obligations. It is not intended to be relied upon as a statement of the legal position and you should consult your legal adviser before acting upon the information.

搜寻语言流动式目录

政府资讯科技总监办公室

核证机关及证书的认可

根据《电子交易条例》(下称「条例」),政府资讯科技总监(下称「总监」)可向核证机关及向认可核证机关发出的证书作出认可。只有符合政府所订标准和其他规定属可靠稳当的核证机关及证书才会获得认可。

核证机关的认可

  1. 条例第21(4)条述明,在决定申请人是否适合认可时,总监除考虑其认为有关的任何其他事宜以外,还须考虑以下事宜:
    • 申请人是否具备适当财政条件,按条例及《认可核证机关业务守则》(下称「业务守则」)作为认可核证机关运作;
    • 申请人已作出的或拟作出的应付因其与条例的目的有关的活动而可引致的法律责任的安排;
    • 申请人使用的或拟使用的用作向登记人发出证书的系统、程序、保安安排及标准;
    • 条例第20(3)(b)条所指的报告,载有对申请人是否有能力遵守业务守则指明的条例及业务守则的条文(这些条文载于业务守则附录2第1段)的评估;或条例第20(3)(c)条所指的法定声明,说明申请人是否有能力遵守业务守则指明的条例及业务守则的条文(这些条文载于业务守则附录2第2段);
    • 申请人及负责人员是否适当人选;以及
    • 申请人为其证书设定的或拟为其证书设定的倚据限额。
  2. 有关条例第20(3)(b)条所指的报告,申请认可的核证机关必须向总监提交一份报告,载有对该核证机关是否有能力遵守业务守则指明的条例及业务守则的条文(这些条文载于业务守则附录2第1段)的评估。报告须由获总监认可为合资格作出报告的人拟备。拟备报告的人须具备的资格载于业务守则第12条。核证机关须向总监提出申请,确认该机关拟聘用负责拟备评估报告的人为条例所指的合资格人士,并须就有关申请向总监提交所需的文件及资讯
  3. 核证机关的认可有效期一般为三年。认可核证机关可向总监申请将认可续期。

证书的认可

  1. 认可核证机关可向总监申请就其发出的部分或所有证书作出认可。假如提出申请的核证机关仍未成为认可核证机关,便须将其要求成为认可核证机关的申请连同证书认可申请一并递交。总监会待该核证机关获得认可后,才考虑其证书认可申请。
  2. 一般而言,只要认可核证机关的认可资格维持不变,而有关的核证作业准则,包括规管认可证书的相关证书政策亦无重大改变,则由该认可核证机关发出的认可证书的认可资格亦会维持不变。
  3. 条例第22(5)条述明,在认可个别证书或某类型、类别或种类的证书时,总监除考虑其认为有关的任何其他事宜以外,还须考虑以下事宜-
    • 证书是否按照认可核证机关的核证作业准则发出;
    • 证书是否按照业务守则发出;
    • 就或拟就个别证书,或就或拟就该类型、类别或种类的证书设定的或拟设定的倚据限额(视情况需要而定);以及
    • 认可核证机关已作出的或拟作出的应付因其发出个别证书或该类型、类别或种类的证书(视属何种情况而定)而可引致的法律责任的安排。

申请认可

有关申请成为认可核证机关/将认可核证机关的认可续期及/或将证书认可成为认可证书,请参阅申请认可。.

备注:

本网页所载的资讯,不是用以影响任何人的权利和义务,也不是供人作法律用途而倚据的声明。若根据网页的资讯采取任何行动,请先自行征询法律顾问的意见。